The Herb Alpert Foundation and California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) will announce the 2013 Alpert Award in the Arts recipients on May 10th

Five $75,000 prizes given annually for the Alpert Award in the Arts:
Dance, Film/Video, Music, Theatre and Visual Arts

April 15, 2013

Santa Monica — The Herb Alpert Foundation and California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) will award the 19th Annual Alpert Award in the Arts to five exceptional mid–career artists, presented at a lunch hosted by the Herb Alpert Foundation in Santa Monica.

The awards recognize past performance and future promise to artists working in Dance, Film/Video, Music, Theatre and Visual Arts; an outstanding candidate in each genre receives a prize of $75,000. Herb Alpert, the legendary musician and artist who created the Herb Alpert Foundation with his wife Lani Hall and gave the first Alpert Award in the Arts in 1995 says, “The Alpert Awards are given to those who take aesthetic, intellectual and political risks, and challenge worn–out conventions. They’re unafraid of the unknown.”

Irene Borger, the Director of the Alpert Award in the Arts, selects the distinguished panelists for each of the Award’s five disciplines.

Herb Alpert and Lani Hall Alpert
©2013 Philipp Scholz Rittermann

The 2013 DANCE Award panelists:
Ann Carlson*, choreographer/individual artist, Palo Alto, CA
Wendy Perron, editor–in–chief, Dance Magazine, New York, NY
David Rousseve*, artistic director, David Rousseve Reality; professor of choreography, World Arts and Cultures/Dance, University of California, Los Angeles, CA

The 2013 FILM/VIDEO Award panelists:
Margarita De la Vega–Hurtado, independent film person, Houston, TX
Bill Morrison*, filmmaker, New York, NY
Astria Suparak, director and curator, Miller Gallery at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA

The 2013 MUSIC Award panelists:
Edmund Campion, composer, University of California, Berkeley, co–director, Center for New Music and Audio Technologies, Berkeley, CA
Mary Ellen Childs, composer, Minneapolis, MN
Anthony Davis, composer, University of California, San Diego, CA

The 2013 THEATRE Award panelists:
Kim Euell, playwright and dramaturg–at–large, Iowa City, IA
Gideon Lester, director of Theatre Programs, Bard College, Co–curator, Crossing the Line Festival, New York, NY
Eric Ting, director and associate artistic director, Long Wharf Theatre, New Haven, CT

The 2013 VISUAL ARTS Award panelists:
Paul Ha, director, MIT List Visual Arts Center, Cambridge, MA
Kay Larson, art critic and author, Where the Heart Beats: John Cage, Zen Buddhism, and the Inner Life of Artists, Accord, NY
Lawrence Rinder, director, Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, Berkeley, CA

*Past Alpert Award winners

Over the years the distinguished Alpert Award panelists have selected artists who have gone on to extraordinary careers after winning the Alpert Award. They include Zhou Long, 2011 Pulitzer Prize winner in Music, and Suzan–Lori Parks, a Pulitzer winner for Drama 2002. The many other prizes winners of the prestigious Alpert Award receive have included 4 MacArthur Fellowships and 22 Guggenheim Fellowships.

Initiated and funded by The Herb Alpert Foundation and administered by California Institute of the Arts, the Award rewards experimenters who are challenging and transforming art, their respective disciplines, and society.

For more information about the Awards, please visit:

CalArts media requests, contact: Margaret Crane, CalArts Media Relations Manager, Tel: 661.222.2787

Herb Alpert Foundation media requests, contact: Caroline Graham, C4 Global Communications, Tel: 310.899.2727